Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

A Strange Dream or a Vision from God?

7 Comments

“there are certain people that God made to be objects of His wrath.  There are passages that say that God Himself has blinded people to the truth, that He has hardened their hearts to Him.  It is a frightening prospect to me.  What if I’m one of them?  It simply seems to me that maybe Hell is there purely for God’s entertainment value, as if it’s all a big game and we are just pawns in it.”

I don’t know if any of you go back and re-read the posts on your blog, but I went back through and re-read of few of mine.  I guess I had that statement from my post The Wrath of God on my mind when I went to bed Friday night.  I had the weirdest dream about it.  I had died and gone to what I assume was the judgement.  There were two queues of people as far as the eye could see.  I was in about the middle of the pack.  We were resting on what seemed like clouds.  At the head of the queues was an an enormous desk and behind the desk was Jesus dressed in flowing white robes.   On the desk there was a huge open book.  As the people approached the desk some were allowed past the desk and in through these huge gates.  There was a wall that stretched on either side of the gates that concealed my view of what was on the other side.  The people who weren’t allowed past the desk were sent to another queue before a great throne.  The throne was intricately carved with lions and had huge claw feet.  The man that sat on the throne was gigantic in comparison to us.  I couldn’t see his face, but he was wearing long, flowing, shining robes, almost iridescent.  I’m certain it was God.  A big spectacle was made of the people in the queue before the throne.  They began to sound like goats.  As each person approached the throne the figure reached out with one hand to square them up, then he reached down with the other hand and thumped them off the edge of the cloud and down into a deep pit.  One at a time I watched as people either disappeared through the gates or were thumped down into the pit.  Just as I approached the desk I woke up. Whew!  I have no idea which way I was going.

What a strange dream.  Or was this a “vision” from God? *grin*  What about you?  Have you ever had a “vision” like that?  Some people might actually think that was a sign from God, but I know all too well that the mind can play gnarly tricks on you when your stressed about a particular subject.  No, I did not have pork for dinner! :~)

7 thoughts on “A Strange Dream or a Vision from God?

  1. Kind of makes you wonder about the dreams of the patriarchs, doesn't it? (Thinking of Jacob and his ladder here.) We could easily take our dreams and assign some sort of super-natural association with them, depending on what it is we believe or what our religious influences have been over the year.Is the dream a message from "God" or is it our own conscience sorting out our anxieties while our bodies are at rest?

    Like

  2. If it were a vision from God, how would you distinguish it from a mere dream?

    Like

  3. Kind of gives me a whole new perspective on the visions of the patriarchs. When Jacob wrestled with God he was in fear for his life at the time. Kinda like I've been fearful of the whole hell thing. So psychologically speaking I don't know that his dream was any different from mine.In the book of Revelation John sees some very freaky things, yet he was in exile on the Isle of Patmos so could it have been stress induced. Or as one of my Christian friends put it…"those were some awfully good mushrooms".*grin*

    Like

  4. SteveJ,I wouldn't begin to know how to distinguish between the two. I very rarely have dreams, or at least dreams I can remember. I did actually remember this one and it was really vivid. It seemed very real. It's all coming to me now…maybe it was a vision. Nah, I'm not Jacob – it was just a dream. ;~)

    Like

  5. I had a dream like that. I was 3 years old and dreamed I ended up in a creepy underground cave. A suspended skull and crossbones demanded in a deep voice to "bring me another [prairie] or I'll eat you"I ran out, intending to never go back when I met another me outside the cave. She cheerfully told me she would go in my place. I let her go.If that was god, god's an asshole 🙂

    Like

  6. Yikes, you remember a dream from when you were three?!? I was doing well to remember that one from a couple of days before! Scary stuff for a 3 year old.In my dream every time "god" thumped someone off the cloud into the pit everybody, including him, gave a huge belly laugh. Yep, you're right, a huge asshole indeed :~)

    Like

  7. I had a dream like that. I was 3 years old and dreamed I ended up in a creepy underground cave. A suspended skull and crossbones demanded in a deep voice to "bring me another [prairie] or I'll eat you"I ran out, intending to never go back when I met another me outside the cave. She cheerfully told me she would go in my place. I let her go.If that was god, god's an asshole 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

