Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

A Midsomer Dream

4 Comments

The High Street, Midsomer Norton

During my first visit to England in September I went around to four villages spending the day taking in the sights.  The villages there are all so charming.  They are exactly like you see in the movies or on television.  Cascading flowers, climbing vines, and breathtaking architecture.

A lovey residential district in Midsomer Norton

Row houses line the streets.  If all the cars were removed from the streets it was as if I’d stepped back in time.  I felt as if I’d been transported to the pages of a Charles Dickens novel.

A beautiful bistro in Wells

I fell in love with this little place.  There were some places I just couldn’t get out of my imagination even after I left.

A thriving butcher shop in Bath

True dress shops, pastry shops and butcher shops fill the high street with thriving businesses. I had a fabulous time watching the people going about their day busily passing me by on the sidewalk, making their way in to buy fresh meat and bread for the day.

A busy day in on the High Street in Wells

I’m a people watcher.  I love to stand back and watch people go by and imagine what their lives must be like, where they’re from, and what they do. In America the big box stores have nearly shut down all the mom ‘n pop stores, not so in England.  Shops are bustling with activity.  Every storefront on the high streets are filled with locally owned establishments.

Municipal Building in Radstock

They make use of and maintain the buildings they have instead of tearing down and making way for the new.

Mallard’s Pub, Midsomer Norton
There’s a pub on nearly every corner.  This one is situated adjacent to a church.  I found that strange because any establishment where alcoholic beverages are sold where I’m from must be at least 500 yards from any religious establishment.  The Tour Guide just laughed about that. He found it funny and said, “The people will walk straight out of that Church on Sunday and into that pub and order a drink.”  I’ve wished for such after a few church services myself. :~)
City Park, Bath, England
City Park, Bath England
   Well manicured lawns, eye catching focal points, and well placed statues grace their parks.
Did I say that sometimes I think it might be good to just pack up and move away?  Ahhhh……a girl can dream, can’t she?
4 thoughts on “A Midsomer Dream

  1. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing the dream. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love these photos. I went to England for the first time last November. Although we had almost 2 weeks, we never left London! But these pictures make me want to go back and explore the rest of the country. There was such an overwhelming sense of history there.

    Like

  3. I never made it to London. Maybe on my next trip. I was fortunate that the Tour Guide took me off the beaten path so I got to much of the country side and the "real" England. If you get the opportunity to go back I highly recommend exploration.

    Like

  4. I never made it to London. Maybe on my next trip. I was fortunate that the Tour Guide took me off the beaten path so I got to much of the country side and the "real" England. If you get the opportunity to go back I highly recommend exploration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

