Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Not So Rambling Thoughts

16 Comments

I’ve deviated a bit from my original “mission statement” with this blog over the last few weeks, posting things of a non-religious nature.  I was given some very good advice from someone who has already been there, done that, not sure if he has the t-shirt(ooh, there’s an idea). DagoodS wrote“There is a great deal to be said for breathing. Taking a moment to breathe. In and out. Doesn’t hurt to take a five-minute moment and NOT worry about what to do next. Look outside, watch the world. Rest.”  So I took a little breather to let the dust settle.  I’m generally a pretty rational person, but I had let this storm cause panic in my chaos. I’ve slowed down, realizing I don’t have to know ALL the answers right now.  I’m more at peace with the fact that I have doubts. The little break provided me the opportunity to calm down and approach this with my normal level headed view of life and it’s problems. I’ve decided that either Christianity is true or it isn’t and whether it is or isn’t there’s nothing to fear.  If it is true I want to know it and I’ll believe, and if it isn’t….well it just isn’t and that’s okay, too. My biggest fear, if you can call it that, is not being able to figure it out and being somewhere in between.  But if I’m truthful, having given up the idea of a literal hell, that’s not nearly as frightening as it once was either. Do I still have questions? Absolutely! But thanks to a wonderful online community who have shown me compassion, patience, and acceptance I’ve realized this isn’t the end of the world.  It may be the end of the world as I knew it, but it’s a brand new world where I’m learning some pretty exciting things.  I’ve woken up and the coffee smells like heaven on earth.

16 thoughts on “Not So Rambling Thoughts

  1. Have you ever noticed that the best way to find the solution to a problem is to leave it and do something else? For example, if I am looking for curtains and can't figure out the colour or the style, I move on to something else. While I'm working on the next project, the answer to the "curtain" issue comes. So, yes, it is a good idea to take time off of an issue. It can be of enormous help.

    Like

  2. Wow, just reading this made me take a deep breath. Thanks D'Ma. Thanks DagoodS. :-)… Zoe ~

    Like

  3. Everything looks different with time!

    Like

  4. You know I needed that reminder today. I could have used that reminder a few months back as well. I feel that frantic feeling sometimes like I must know the answer NOW!What great advice you where given and now I shall go and heed that advice.

    Like

  5. Ah…there is a secret to having words of wisdom…dare I share it?See, all one has to do is post a million or so words, and some are bound to be helpful to somebody. The rest are dredge, of course. But luck favors the garrulous.My mother faithfully saved our first haircuts, lost teeth, school photos, report cards and items of interest over the years. And then—as a high school graduation present—bound it together in a photo album as a gift. This was long before scrapbooking was even heard of.It was fun to go through life’s changes. A true laugh-out-loud moment was reading the comments in my report cards. My first grade teacher said, “talks to [sic] much in class.” Hey, I blame my poor spelling on her!Glad it helped.

    Like

  6. It did help immensely, DagoodS. Thank you ever so much. I love the "scrapbook" your mother put together for you. That's fantastic. My mother saved all that stuff, too, but no scrapbook. Unfortunately I don't know where any of it is now. 😦

    Like

  7. Anything I didn't have my hands on, mom threw out! Thankfully, I kept a my own scrap book. Nobody cares to look at it though. LOL!DagoodS helped me once. (Zoe looks around. Okay, more than once.) *grin* I've always been up and down about blogging. One day, or actually on more than one occasion he sort of gently but bluntly stated, (my paraphrase) … 'I don't care what you write, just write!' [He's kind of bossy you know.] *giggle*… Zoe ~

    Like

  8. I'll echo DagoodS, please KEEP WRITING!!! (I'm asking nicely :-D). Yeah, he's helped me a time or two already, too. We'd better be careful, though. Wouldn't wanna give him the bighead or anything. 😉

    Like

  9. Hey, doubt is a virtue! Uncertainty is a necessary component of honesty. And guess what? "I don't know" is a perfectly valid answer.

    Like

  10. Sure it is, MM. Just not so easy to come to that conclusion when you've been so sure of all the answers. "I don't know" was seen as weakness, doubt as treason, uncertainty as the road to destruction. But guess what, I've done all of those things and nothing bad has happened…yet. *grin*

    Like

  11. Anything I didn't have my hands on, mom threw out! Thankfully, I kept a my own scrap book. Nobody cares to look at it though. LOL!DagoodS helped me once. (Zoe looks around. Okay, more than once.) *grin* I've always been up and down about blogging. One day, or actually on more than one occasion he sort of gently but bluntly stated, (my paraphrase) … 'I don't care what you write, just write!' [He's kind of bossy you know.] *giggle*… Zoe ~

    Like

  12. Ah…there is a secret to having words of wisdom…dare I share it?See, all one has to do is post a million or so words, and some are bound to be helpful to somebody. The rest are dredge, of course. But luck favors the garrulous.My mother faithfully saved our first haircuts, lost teeth, school photos, report cards and items of interest over the years. And then—as a high school graduation present—bound it together in a photo album as a gift. This was long before scrapbooking was even heard of.It was fun to go through life’s changes. A true laugh-out-loud moment was reading the comments in my report cards. My first grade teacher said, “talks to [sic] much in class.” Hey, I blame my poor spelling on her!Glad it helped.

    Like

  13. Have you ever noticed that the best way to find the solution to a problem is to leave it and do something else? For example, if I am looking for curtains and can't figure out the colour or the style, I move on to something else. While I'm working on the next project, the answer to the "curtain" issue comes. So, yes, it is a good idea to take time off of an issue. It can be of enormous help.

    Like

  14. I went through this same process, but I wasn’t nearly so eloquent about it. I mostly just whined to myself and god in a notebook.

    Like

Leave a Reply

