Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

I Was Born a Ramblin’…….

9 Comments

….well…..woman.  Okay, so it doesn’t work as well, but nevertheless. 

You know how one thought leads to another thought to another and then before you know it you’re somewhere way off the thing you first started with?  I’m a rabbit chaser. I chase rabbits.  In my mind.  I’m always hot on the trail of those elusive little creatures.  Alas I never seem to catch one.  Good thing I’m not depending on that for dinner.  Elmer Fudd and I would starve.  Darned old wascally wabbits.

I’ve been told several times lately that because my life is a gift from none other than the Creator of the Universe that my response should be to worship him.  I haven’t been in a very worshipful mood lately.  But then I got to thinkin’…dangerous in these parts, I know.  I’m supposed to be thankful, and that’s supposed to create a desire in me to worship, because I was born.  I was given the gift of life.  But what if I hadn’t been born?  I wouldn’t be any the wiser.  Maybe I would rather to have not been born.  Then I wouldn’t have to make all these decisions and I wouldn’t have all these problems.  Not that my life is all bad.  It’s mostly good.  Make that great.  But still, I wouldn’t know the difference were I not to have been born.  Should I be grateful that said Creator hasn’t stricken me dead?  Maybe that is something to be thankful for.  But up until now I thought I was a Christian, so if I had died, I thought I was going to heaven.  Maybe I should really be ungrateful for that.  Because now I’m not sure of my fate.  Heaven…hell…are they real, are they not?

That just led to more thinkin’.  Have mercy, does it ever stop?  I’m supposed to be thankful that Jesus came and died for my sins, so I can have a relationship with that Creator.  I’ve tried to have one of those, but it’s seemed kinda one-sided.  I talk to him, he never says anything back.  I ask questions, it just sounds like my voice in my head answering.  I thought that was when I was supposed to know I was crazy, when I started answering my own questions.  Am I crazy?  Possibly, because the voice in my head that sounds like me doesn’t really have original thoughts when it’s talking back.  It’s mostly stuff regurgitated from the Bible or the pulpit.

Then I started thinkin’ about the sacrifice Jesus made.  Which made me start thinkin’ about the sacrifices in the Old Testament that came to an end as a result of the one Jesus made.  They’re all blood sacrifices.  Blood sacrifices of animals that culminate in human sacrifice.  So then I was wondering how this was different than most other barbaric, archaic religions except that we weren’t sacrificing virgins to a volcano.  But wait….we did make a virgin sacrifice, just not to a volcano. Well I guess he was a virgin.  Depends on who you ask.  Some say yes, some say no.  Mary Magdalene isn’t around to ask.

One thing led to another and I was back to a question I asked when I first found some other doubters online.  If God is sovereign and he’s in control of everything, why would he design it so his “chosen people” would need to reject his “only son” so that nasty old gentiles like me could be grafted into salvation.  He’s God, right?  He can do anything he wants.  Why would he need to harden the hearts of the Jews for a time, sending those in the interim who don’t accept Jesus to a fiery hell, to rescue dirty ole me?

See, I told you I was born a ramblin’ woman.  I chase rabbits.  I’m a rabbit chaser.  In my mind. All day long. And I still haven’t caught one.  Darned old wascally wabbits.

9 thoughts on “I Was Born a Ramblin’…….

  1. Don't you know, you're supposed to take it on faith, not think about it. That's your problem. When you don't think about it, it's all so simple! 😉

    Like

  2. I'm not the first person to notice this, but an awful lot of the Bible makes vastly more sense if you assume that God is powerful and wise, but not all-powerful or all-knowing.The insistence on omniscience and omnipotence actually creates a lot more theological problems than it solves, at least to my mind.

    Like

  3. TWF,I have been told on more than one occasion I think too much. :-DMM,It does make more sense given that assumption. But here goes my ramblin' again…If he's not in complete control, he's not all-knowing and he's not all-powerful what kind of god is he? Does he have the power to create a hell? Does he have the power to send people there? Does he have the authority to make the rules? Is he anything to be afraid of? Damn rabbits!

    Like

  4. Well, the main thing is – and this is pretty apparent in the old testament, when He occasionally flexes His mojo against other deities – if that's the case, then there are alternatives. Monotheism is historically unusual, and really quite a recent development. This doesn't seem too odd to me, because the world actually seems to make more sense if it's run by a whole bunch of different gods with conflicting goals and agendas, each in firm control of one or two things, and all more or less balanced against each other. I'm not seriously suggesting that that's the case, but it does solve a lot of the inherent problems of there being only a single divine Creator who controls everything…

    Like

  5. MM, I haven't studied much about other gods. Basically what I know about them comes from my literature class in high school. That is an interesting proposition, though. When you say "there are alternatives", what exactly do you mean? I was under the impression that when God flexed His mojo against the other deities it was ultimately to prove the foolishness and fallacy of believing in any other god. In other words, to disprove their existence, not to prove his superiority over them.

    Like

  6. I think we have twin minds.If my memory serves me correctly, at least some of the rhetoric against "other gods" in the OT seems to be putting them down as weak and inferior, not non-existent.As far as Michael's comment about many deities… When we think of the pantheon of greek and roman gods with all their different personalities, rivalries, jurisdictions, etc… is this not similar to the christian view that there are millions of angels and demons with names, leaders, personalities, jurisdictions, etc., warring against each other and intervening in the affairs of man?

    Like

  7. ei,Maybe I should go back and read some of those stories with no preconceived ideas about other gods. It's possible that I've been so convinced there was only one god that I read them through that lens. Rephrase…not possible, I'm certain of it.

    Like

  8. "I was under the impression that when God flexed His mojo against the other deities it was ultimately to prove the foolishness and fallacy of believing in any other god. In other words, to disprove their existence, not to prove his superiority over them."I think you can read it the other way around – that it was a matter of proving that he was the most powerful, rather than that he was the only actual deity. God was acting to prove that trusting in other gods was foolish, but not that there weren't any others.

    Like

  9. MM,Sure. I'm certain I've been reading those passages through the lens of there being only "one god" as per Southern Baptist standards. I'd never really even thought about the fact that he was proving his superiority. That makes a whole lot of sense, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

