Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Couch to 5K – Week 7

6 Comments

Week seven of the Couch to 5K plan is back to three days of the same running pattern. This is it:

Day 1,2 & 3       
                                                 
* 5 minute warmup          
* 25 minutes jogging         
* 4 minute cool down        

I did okay on days 1 and 2.  My endurance is building and my breathing was much better regulated by day 3.  I still can’t quite drink and run at the same time, but I can see it happening as my breathing is less labored and I shaved some time off my distance.  I ran 2.2 miles in 25 minutes, though I’m not terribly concerned about distance yet. Once I can jog 30 minutes nonstop I’ll work on time.  I’m hooked! 

My plan is to ramp it up to the Gateway to 8K when I’m done with week 9.  That’s another 8 week program to build up to an 8K and on from there I plan to build to a 10K. 

I’ve been doing general stretches before and after, but is there any particular stretching plan anybody recommends? 

6 thoughts on “Couch to 5K – Week 7

  1. You're doing great! I'm one week behind you. I had to reduce running to twice a week though because my knees are starting to kill me.

    Like

  2. Thanks, DODN! The last time I tried this I had the same issue. I don't know what's different this time around, but I haven't had any problems with my knees. ::looks around for wood to knock on::

    Like

  3. DoOrDoNot,What surface are you running on? Asphalt is bad…concrete is worse. Treadmills can be O.K. I find my knees are much better running on dirt. If you can find a local park with trail runs, they tend to be pretty good on knees. Warning: much harder running though. I’m killing my son, making him run trails *grin*D’Ma,Sorry, I am terrible at stretching. (It’s a wonder I can run at all, considering all the things I do wrongly!) Isn’t it nice to look back? Remember when running for 5 minutes straight—you thought you would die? Or at least hack up a lung? Wish you all were closer. I love running with people.

    Like

  4. DagoodS,Yes, I've mainly been running on asphalt and concrete. I did do better on the treadmills, but I prefer to be outside. The trails I've used at the park I like are actually paved, but I think there might be some dirt trails as well. I'll try it before I resort to the treadmill. Thanks for the tip. Have you and your son run in the Warrior Dash yet?

    Like

  5. You inspire and motivate me, D'Ma.

    Like

  6. @DagoodS,It hasn't been that long ago that I thought running 5 minutes straight I would hack up a lung. I wish we all lived closer, too. It would be nice to have some running companions.=================================================@DoOrDoNot,I asked the same question about the Warrior Dash. DagoodS said it's on July 30th and he'll do a post on it. I can't wait to read it!==================================================@CD,Awww, thanks! :)))))

    Like

Leave a Reply

