Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Couch to 5K – Week 8 & 9

6 Comments

I’ve come to the end of the Couch-to-5K 9 week plan to get myself trained to run a 5K in September.
Week 8 was pretty straight forward. All three days with a 5 minute warm-up and a 28 minute run. I ran all three days pretty strong and the week was pretty uneventful.

Week 9 is supposed to be the last week. According to the plan I should be running 5K or approximately 3 miles in 30 minutes; a 10-minute mile. The little street I run on is between .7 and .75 miles long. I can run 3.5 of those in 30 minutes which means I’m running somewhere in the neighborhood of a 12-minute mile. I can run the 30 minutes pretty well and finish strong, but I’ve still got work to do because I’m only running about 2.5 miles. The week started out a little rocky. The first day I had to stop about half-way through to walk for a minute or so. For some reason I thought I was gonna hurl. It was a bit disappointing after finishing the previous week so strong.

No worries, though. I’ve got time to work on either time or distance. I’m not sure which is more important to me at this point. I’d like to build up to a 10K so maybe both. I’m not really that interested in whether I win a race or not. I’m more competitive with myself. I like to go out and best my previous performance. I’ve not had the pleasure of running with buddies, though, so that may change when I’m up against competitors. I do so like to win. 🙂

What I have discovered is that I need a distraction. Whether it’s music, or meditation, or thinking/planning for the day I have to have something to take my mind off of my breathing. If I think about it too much suddenly I can’t. Yeah, I’m a weirdo. All I know is I’m doing it and, well, I’m pretty darned proud of myself.

6 thoughts on “Couch to 5K – Week 8 & 9

  1. Great progress! Keep it up, girl! 🙂

    Like

  2. I have to have something to think about too, other than the thought of dying because I can't breath.Good job! I STILL have not gotten up early to start again. I do have to give myself some credit as I've still been doing some form of exercise nearly everyday. Of course that's usually in the air conditioned house.

    Like

  3. I love jogging, but have never actually competed in a race. Don't think I"m at a ten minute mile. Hey, my legs are short. :)Trail running is my favorite.Keep up the good work.Becky.

    Like

  4. I'm at about the same pace as you. I still do slow to a walk once during my jog for a short breather. Hey, I actually drank water while jogging on Friday. What a proud moment! 🙂

    Like

  5. "Whether it's music, or meditation, or thinking/planning for the day I have to have something to take my mind off of my breathing. If I think about it too much suddenly I can't. Yeah, I'm a weirdo."That's not weird. Happens to plenty of people – I know several martial artists, some quite skilled, who essentially can't do the movements slowly or break them down in order to explain them. The moment they try, they're doing them wrong. There's even a technical term for it: the Centipede's Dilemna.Feel better, now?

    Like

  6. @TWF,Thanks! I'm getting there. :)=====================================================@TAW,I can totally see why it would be hard to get motivated to get back out there after an injury. Don't beat yourself up too much; it sounds like you're still very active. Chasing K1 and K2 sounds pretty intense. :)====================================================@ Becky,I'm probably never going to be a very competitive runner. That's okay with me, though. I'm doing far more than I ever thought I would or could already. Thanks! ====================================================@DoOrDoNot,I graduate this week from the C25K program. I'm running…errr…jogging 35 minutes non-stop. I gave up trying to drink while jogging. 😦 Maybe I'll get there.==================================================@MM,Yay! I'm not a weirdo after all. And there's a name for what's wrong with me. Who knew? I also have this problem with target practice. As long as the movements are quick and instinctual I can put most of the rounds in the 5 zone. When I slow down and really have to think about it I miss considerably.

    Like

Leave a Reply

