Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

A Little Redecorating

9 Comments

I get a little restless every now and again and have to redecorate my space.  The background picture is of the inner workings of the clock in the tower at Bath Abbey.  The silhouette is the delightful young tour guide(not to be confused with The Tour Guide) who was explaining how it worked .  I was conveniently leaning against this really long, really steady bar for a rest.  Two hundred some-odd steps is a lot.  And they’re really steep spiral steps to boot.  Anyway, the bar was bending just a bit when he looks up to explain the importance of that same bar to the timing of the clock.  I’m sure they had to reset it when I left. 🙂

Anyway, all of this was really just a lead in to say that it took a bit of time to get all of our paperwork together, but The Tour Guide and I have officially filed for our K1 Visa.  I got a notice of receipt from the USCIS on Saturday.  We had been told the process would probably take anywhere from 9 months to a year.  Things have apparently improved because processing times are now 5 to 5.5 months.  My Tour Guide will be here in September for a visit so that should be right about the halfway point.

Looks like a Christmas or New Year’s wedding. ::slaps hands together and rubs palms excitedly:: I have planning to do. 🙂

9 thoughts on “A Little Redecorating

  1. I like the new look!I always wanted a December wedding, so we married on the 21st. We even had a little bit of snow. The paper work takes a while doesn't it. I never really thought about the paper work part of it before.

    Like

  2. Warm congratulations on getting the paperwork filed! For me, that's the part of any process where I tend to procrastinate.Have fun planning!

    Like

  3. @TAW,The paper work takes a while doesn't it.Yeah…ya know that movie The Proposal? It's nothing like that.===================================================@TWF,Thanks!I'm pretty sure I've blogged somewhere about procrastination. This was way too important to procrastinate on. It's gonna take long enough as it is.

    Like

  4. WooHoo!Now you get to work on the fun stuff.

    Like

  5. I meant to do a blog post on procrastination, but I never got around to it. Congratulations, many and profound!

    Like

  6. @DoOrDoNot,Yes, I do get to work on fun stuff…I'm trying to decide: elope or small intimate ceremony locally?===============================================@MM,You'll get around to it….eventually….Thanks!===============================================@ Becky,Yes, it is awesome!

    Like

  7. Congrats! I'm so happy for you. I like the blog photo/layout.

    Like

  8. LAC,Thanks! I'm getting soooo excited!

    Like

Leave a Reply

