Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Race Day

14 Comments

The big race day was today.  Because of my previously mentioned busyness I haven’t trained nearly like I would have liked.  In fact over the last month I’ve run pretty sporadically.  It’s been really hit or miss.  I had planned to go out and run the race route for the last month.  That didn’t happen.  With my crazy schedule I’ve been lucky to run a couple of days per week.  I didn’t run at all for about a week and a half.  Needless to say coming up to race day I was pretty anxious about the whole thing.

Last week I decided maybe I should run the route.  It kicked my butt.  It’s been in the 90’s here over the last week or so and I’ve had to run in the afternoons.  Not good.  The terrain was much different than the trail I normally run.  It’s much hillier.  When I tell you the route was up hill both ways I do not exaggerate.  I almost backed out of it.  I didn’t want to embarrass myself.  It took me close to 45 minutes on both of my trial runs and then I found out that I’d misinterpreted the route.  It was actually a half mile longer than I thought. 

I decided that finishing the race was my goal. If that side stitch caused me to walk more than I’d planned so be it.   If it took me an hour and I finished dead last what would I have to be embarrassed about?  I would be accomplishing something the majority of people won’t even attempt.  Enough with the excuses.  So off I went. 

When I got up this morning, to my surprise, it had rained during the night and cooled things off significantly.  Temperatures were in the mid sixties.  Great!  It remained a bit overcast so no glaring sun.  Even better.  I warmed up properly, stretched and felt pretty good about things.  I arrived, got my first ever number bib, and waited for the race to start.

The race coordinator started out by calling all those who planned to finish the race in under 21 minutes to the front, then those planning to finish in under 35 minutes, then those in under 45 minutes and finally those who planned to finish in under 55 minutes.  I stayed toward the back because based on my two trial runs I thought it best to stay out of the way of those faster than myself.  Most people piled in the middle in the “planning to run in under 45 minutes”.  He blew the whistle and we were off.  Up hills and down hills we went.  Surprisingly I kept a pretty good pace.  I did have to walk a couple of times, but even with that I think I finished pretty well.  Better than I thought anyway.  I had a finishing time of 35:52, 15th out of 18 in my age group and 77th out of 101 runners overall.  Average race time was 30:43.  I’m hooked and I’ll certainly be running another one.

The Masked Avenger took the top prize as usual.  I’m not sure if anyone really even knows his name.  He shows up to all of these events donning a colorful wrestling style mask.  He runs the race in it and after the race changes into fresh one.  He ran the race in 17:51.  Needless to say I was well impressed. Cudos to the Masked Avenger…whoever you are.  

14 thoughts on “Race Day

  1. It wasn't DagoodS under the mask, was it? *grin*All I can say is, Way to go D'Ma! 🙂

    Like

  2. VERY COOL! Congratulations on your very first race! I know you say that your goal was just to finish the thing, and that is how I usually approach these races. I simply want to finish with a respectable time.But tell me if this has happened to you, DMA. You post up at the start and see all the other racers around you, and you secretely start sizing them up. Not the Masked Avenger of course, that guy is too fast, but the people lined up around you who look like that might run at about your pace.Then the race starts. When you run with others, extra adrenalin kicks in. You run faster when there are others setting the pace. Then, the inevitable happens – your evil competetive side comes out.Oh I can take that guy.That girl is so hard to catch up to! I can't let her get too far ahead!HA! I passed you! Now I have to just stay on pace and not let you pass me back!You gotta be kidding me! That guy has to be 80 years old! Why can't I catch up to him??Well… happens to me every time anyway. Anyway, congratulations, and a very good time you have there! Are you interested in pushing it to a 10k next time, or are you comfortable with 5k?

    Like

  3. Great accomplishment! You should be proud! 🙂

    Like

  4. @Zoe,Hmm….food for thought. I wonder…Thanks! I'm pretty proud of myself!================================================@HIS,"But tell me if this has happened to you, DMA. You post up at the start and see all the other racers around you, and you secretly start sizing them up. Not the Masked Avenger of course, that guy is too fast, but the people lined up around you who look like that might run at about your pace."Hehe…oh, yeah! That is exactly what happened. I actually lined up pretty close to the rear because I didn't want to hold anybody back. I lined up with those I thought I'd hold pace with. I had a friend there I thought I'd run with, but once the race started I couldn't do it. I had to keep my own pace and got out in front of her. Then there was a man and his son that I went around. I sort of got out by myself in between a couple of packs because I'm used to running alone I suppose. Each person I "took" made me step up my pace just a little more.As for the 10K question, I used the 1st day to 5K program which I downloaded to my iPod. I've already been working on the sequel to that, Gateway to 8K. Then it's on to a 10K. I don't have a tendency to leave well enough alone. :~)===============================================Thanks, TWF & MM

    Like

  5. Go for that 10k then!! My very first race was a 10k! I will never forget that run. The first half I ran at a blazing pace – an all time personal best! The second half I overheated, cramped up and nearly vomited at the finish line – an all time personal worst! HeHe.. I had not yet learned to pace myself. live and learn!!

    Like

  6. Way to go D'Ma! I haven't run much more than 5K, but I think I have a better chance of working on increased distance than on increased speed. How far do you run now?

    Like

  7. That is something to be proud of! Well done, D'Ma!

    Like

  8. Outstandingly great job! Be very proud of an initial race time of 35:52. I agree with HeIsSailing—until one runs a race, you cannot understand the adrenaline rush causing one’s time to increase. Very different from going out for run on your own or with a friend.And…as so often happens…you have caught the bug. One race is not enough. Soon you will be signing up for one almost every weekend. You will have so many shirts, you give them away. (I order a variety of sizes now, so my son, daughter and wife can wear them.) And each race you will want to beat your last time. Soon it will be, “under 30:00”…then “under 28:00”…then…Zoe, you wiseacre. No, I have not and never will run 5k in 17:00. Probably never under 20:00. HeIsSailing. What I find interesting, in “sizing up” the runners ahead of time is how often I am wrong. The guys wearing the latest equipment, doing lunge stretches like ballet dancers? Meh…middle of the pack. The 14-year-old girl chewing gum and texting up until the minute before the gun goes off? Female 1st place.We are in a small enough community that locally (within 10 miles), I’m starting to see the same runners. And the same people beating me.

    Like

  9. @HIS,I don't think I could've tackled a 10K first. I'm glad I started with the 5K to help build some confidence. I'm definitely headed in that direction, though.=================================================@DODN,Thanks! I started with the Gateway to 8K. I'm on the third week of it. I did the first two weeks then dropped back to get ready for the 5K. It's very similar to the 1st Day to 5K program, though. Right now it has me running 10 minutes and walking one x4. I'm not really sure how far that is to be honest.===============================================@CD,Thanks! I am pretty darned proud of myself. I've never been athletic. I was always the one who got picked last at…well…anything. This was quite an accomplishment for me. I'm good at a few things, sports is not one of them.===============================================@DagoodS,I didn't think 35:52 was too shabby for my first time out. In retrospect I probably could have run it a little faster, but didn't want to end up embarrassing myself by tossing my cookies at the end. I thought Zoe had cracked the mystery of the Masked Avenger. He's 32 years old, stands 6'4" and is legs for about 4" of that (at least it looks that way). Yeah, if I had legs that stretched for one of the three miles I could get there a lot faster. :~)I also found what you said to be true about those with the latest equipment, doing all their stretches, and warming up forever. Middle of the pack, some even finishing in the bottom tier. The ones I expected to bring up the cow's tail shot out front and never looked back.I was quite impressed with the 74 year old man who ran it in 30 minutes and the 64 year old man who ran it in 25.

    Like

  10. Good Job! I'm happy to report I restarted my jogging today and so far so good. 🙂

    Like

  11. The first half I ran at a blazing pace – an all time personal best! The second half I overheated, cramped up and nearly vomited at the finish line – an all time personal worst! HeHe.. I had not yet learned to pace myself. live and learn!

    Like

  12. Thanks, TAG and Sabio!@TAG,Are you still going? Hopefully injury free.

    Like

Leave a Reply

