Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

A Christmas Memory

9 Comments

It was Christmas morning and Ruth was excited.  It was already daylight outside and Karen was still asleep.  How could she sleep?  Surely Santa was long gone by now!  So Ruth quietly climbed out of the bed they shared, tiptoed into the kitchen and peeped her little head around the kitchen door to see if she could spy what he had left.  What in the world?  That’s mama and daddy putting the gifts under the tree, not Santa.

Now, Ruth was only six, but she was no dummy.  Something wasn’t adding up here.  It hadn’t been that long ago that she saw that same little Singer sewing machine in the top of the closet at Ann’s shop.  When Ruth asked her about it then Ann told her she was storing it for a customer to give their daughter at Christmas.  She wasn’t foolin’ anybody.  That was Ruth’s sewing machine all along.

So Ruth tiptoed back to bed and climbed in and pulled the covers up.  She waited patiently until Karen woke up.  And by patiently I mean that she moved about and bounced the bed as much as she possibly could without outright jumping on it like a trampoline.  They got up and tore into the living room where there, under the tree, was that shiny new sewing machine, complete with thread and some scraps of fabric.

Ruth mentioned to Karen what she had seen, but Karen just passed it off.  She was ten so she knew better.  There was a Santa Claus and mama and daddy were not it.  We didn’t have a chimney, so Santa had to leave the presents outside.  Mama and daddy must have brought them in and gone back to bed.  That’s all.  Ruth had misunderstood what she saw.

No matter.  Ruth couldn’t wait to use that sewing machine.  It was a real one.  It plugged into the wall and really worked.  Mama and daddy awoke to the rather noisy sound of sewing.  Boy that thing was loud. Ruth had set that thing up on the table, threaded it, and went to town sewing those tiny scraps of fabric together.  She wanted to be just like Ann.  And now she was.  This was great!

There was just the matter of the whole Santa thing.  Ruth couldn’t get it out of her head what she’d seen.  And she wasn’t buying what Karen was selling.  Karen could go on believing that if she wanted to, but Ruth knew the truth.  A big man, in a red suit, delivering presents to all the kids in the world in one night?  No way.  But Ruth never mentioned what she’d seen to Ann and J.L.  She thought it would disappoint them if she knew the truth.  So she just let them play the game and she played right along with them.  

9 thoughts on “A Christmas Memory

  1. Great story! As I recall, I think I may have put two and two together when I stumbled on gifts tucked up in a closet during a round of hide-and-go-seek (hiding up on the top shelves of linen closets was my specialty). I kept the discovery to myself too. 🙂

    Like

  2. We never told Lil'T about Santa and my parents didn't tell us about it either. She didn't care but now in Kindergarten the other kids are talking about it. She wants to believe it because she met an actual Santa Claus who said he would bring her presents. It would be so easy to play along.

    Like

  3. D'ma, I am going off topic to recommend a post at a site I do not see you listing as a fellow sojourner. It was very touching to me, and caused me to think of you and Zoe (I know she comes here). Enjoy:http://lovejoyfeminism.blogspot.com/2011/11/adventures-in-parenting-on-reasoning.html#more

    Like

  4. Enjoyed the story, D'Ma. :)Becky.

    Like

  5. My Dad didn't want to lie to us so we never believed in Santa Claus but still enjoyed the tradition, by knowing that Mom and Dad were Santa Claus…my sister Becky really wanted to believe in Santa so I think she did for a few years. However, my husband really wanted our kids to believe so we did the whole Santa routine at our house but I still feel guilty about it and our youngest is 14. I wish we'd done it Dad's way.

    Like

  6. You know, the odd thing about it is, I don't remember my parents ever specifically telling us about Santa. Not the red suit, reindeer, making his list, checking it twice Santa. I think it was more or less cues we picked up on in songs and on TV. I still love to watch Rudolph and Frosty. I've heard parents using Santa as a bargaining chip(I'll have a post on that later), but my parents never did that. I really don't remember them talking about it much. But they did always try to sneak the presents in without us knowing where they came from. I think more or less we knew about Santa and they didn't tell us any different. It's kind of how I remember it anyway.Oh, and Exrelayman I really enjoyed that post. I've added her, but I really need to revamp my sidebar when I have time. Thanks for pointing her blog out to me.Thanks for stopping by, Marie! I'm kind of torn about the Santa thing. I may just do it like my parents did it. The interesting thing is, when I did find out about Santa, I never really thought of my parents as lying. I didn't stop trusting them.

    Like

  7. I have a Santa story. It's sad though. I posted it once but not sure if it's around anymore. My story involves wondering why my parents could lie and I couldn't. I was punished for lying. And them? My trust meter was broken over the Santa thing. I was six. Depressing.And I've had that site Exrelayman mentioned in my blogroll for awhile now. I've never commented but I have really enjoyed and related to her writing.

    Like

  8. What a lovely story! So that's how kids find out? I was never taught to believe in Santa. My mother's church didn't celebrate Christmas.

    Like

  9. I'd like to read your Santa story, Zoe. If you don't want to repost it over at your blog I'd be happy to follow a link from the comments here if you could embed it. Thanks, Lorena. Mostly kids do find out in sort of that way. Either that or the other kids who figure it out can't wait to blab. Do you celebrate Christmas now?

    Like

Leave a Reply

