Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

I’m Still Alive…

11 Comments

Recently, Monday to be exact, I turned the big 4-0.  I was afraid it would be a little painful, but I didn’t feel a thing.  As I stared down the barrel of 40 I realized I wish I’d done a whole lotta things I haven’t done.  But 40’s the new 20, right?  I’ve got a lot of time left to do all those things.  I want to go whitewater rafting and zip-lining and canoeing and see the Grand Canyon and, and, and….have children, and…You get the idea.  I’ve still got time.

My sweetie got me exactly what I asked for for my birthday.  A heart monitor.  So I can keep up with my heart rate when I run.  Okay, jog. Because I’ve had a really hard time working up to a 5K this time.  Admittedly the street I’m running jogging on has a lot more of an incline.  But working up to a 5K was a lot easier the last time around.

I’ve determined that my resting heart rate is 62.  That’s good, right?  So I plugged all the pertinent information into my little transmitter device which is all girly pink.  Height, weight, age, sex.  I’m a girl and I’m 40.  The rest I ain’t tellin’.  Anyway the little transmitter thingy says my target heart rate while jogging should be between 117 and 153 and that my maximum heart rate is somewhere around 180. “Not too shabby,” I think to myself. Ha!

I know these are approximations but is it bad that just walking at a brisk pace puts me at the top of the range?  Is it bad that when I actually jogged my heart rate was actually more than the maximum heart rate for the majority of the time?  My range was between 172 and 230.  Most of the time my heart rate was around 190.  When I jogged up Sumbitch Hill(I’ve given it a new name) it went to 214 and then 230.  No wonder I’ve been having such a hard time breathing!  It occurs to me I have no idea what I’m doing with this thing. :/

It hasn’t killed me yet.  And I’ve finally gotten to the point that I can run jog 28 minutes straight with no walking.  Woo hoo!  Maybe I’ll make it to 50.  Keep ’em comin’.  It won’t hurt my feelings one bit.

11 thoughts on “I’m Still Alive…

  1. Happy Belated Birthday! And, yes, you’ve got time. Carpe Diem!

    My heart rate runs a bit higher than normal too. If you’re like me, don’t be surprised if you have a little difficulty getting that resting heart rate down.

    Jogging for 28 minutes straight, especially on uneven terrain, is great! Good job!

    Like

    • Thanks, TWF!

      This terrain isn’t exactly a mountain or anything, but it is definitely not flat! Let’s just say it’s not at all like jogging on a treadmill.

      Thanks for the encouragement!

      Like

  2. Happy Birthday D’Ma! I’m proud of your jogging accomplishments! Keep it up. 40 is definitely younger than it use to be!

    Like

    • Y’know, when I was a kid and in my early twenties(still a kid in my book now) I thought 40 was ancient. Now it seems pretty young to me or, at least, I feel pretty young. Until I do something stupid. Like try to act young. Then I realize I ain’t as young as I used to be. 🙂

      Like

  3. Woot! And happy birthday.

    I’m trying to start exercising again myself, and it’s… slow going. Not least because it’s 108 f degrees around here. (I’ll leave to your imagination just what I think the “f” stands for.) So good on you for getting started.

    I’m guessing that the heart rate thing is an approximation, and that there’s going to be some individual variation on that. So the fact that yours is higher than it seems to think you should be is probably something you should run by your doctor when you get a chance, but not something you should immediately panic over.

    Like

    • Thanks, MM!

      It’s been pretty hot here, too. I’ve been getting up really early in the morning before the sun comes out and even then it’s between 75 and 80 degrees.

      I’m not really panicking. I’m just not familiar enough with what these numbers even mean to know what they mean if you know what I mean. I would have thought I’d been at this long enough to have brought those numbers down a little, but maybe it takes longer than I think it does. Not only that, before I had this little gadget I would get to the point that I felt like I literally couldn’t breath and get a little dizzy so I would have to stop and walk for a few minutes. I couldn’t even run ten full minutes. It’s helped me know when to slow down to a milder pace before I get to that point so I can at least jog through 25 to 28 minutes. It’s definitely useful.

      Like

  4. Happy Birthday! My new form of excercising consists of lugging water buckets and raking hay. Belive if it not I’ve lost a few pounds and gained some muscle. Of course sweating in 112 degree heat is awful.

    Like

    • Thanks, TAW!

      Um….I think any form of exercise in 112 degree heat is commendable. Once the sun comes up around here all I want to do is be inside where the air conditioning is doing as little as possible.

      Like

  5. Happy 40s ! Have you tried a day or two of sprint-walk-sprint-walk instead of just jogging. It is better for the heart & muscles, I think.

    Like

  6. Happy Birthday! (It seems so odd to look BACK at 40, rather than having reached 40.) Glad you are still running. It is a sport that is hard to keep up, at times. Once you set it down for one week, it can become two weeks…then a month….then more. And when you pick it back up, all you remember is how far or fast you went when you stopped. “I remember when I could run all the way to the end of the road; and now I can’t make it to the mail box?”

    I can’t help you with the heart rate—I have always used breathing to determine how fast I was pushing. I would agree with Sabio Lantz to at least try, on occasion, interspersing jogging with alternating pace.

    Like

  7. Happy Belated Birthday! I missed it. 😳

    Like

Leave a Reply

