Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Climate Change is a Hoax

15 Comments

Image

I live in South Georgia in the United States, y’all, not to be confused with the country of Georgia.  We have two seasons here; hot and cold.  We don’t get a change of seasons like a lot of the country.  Leaves don’t change pretty colors.  They’re either green and on the trees or brown and not.  The grass is either pretty and green or dead.  We have to travel a good three or four hours north to see any seasonal changes.  When the hubs got off the airplane in July of 2012 my best friend greeted him, “Welcome to hell.”  He only thought she was exaggerating.

In comes this massive winter storm and, voila, proof positive there’s no such thing as climate change.  It’s all a hoax.  My facebook newsfeed is blowing up with questions like, “Where’s that global warming?”, and conspiracy theories about it’s veracity.  Nah, human meddling, don’t have no impact on this here environment.  God’s got it all under control.  It won’t blow up until he’s good and ready for it to.

Meanwhile folks around here are preparing for the worst.  Buying out the grocery store of things like batteries, milk, water.  Tomorrow the forecast is for a 54% chance of freezing precipitation which will most likely be in the form of sleet, but people are making their preparations for a blizzard. If it does, by some chance, do either of those things everything will shut down. 

By Thursday the temperature will be a balmy 60 degrees again. 

Image

15 thoughts on “Climate Change is a Hoax

  1. We don’t get seasons here in Brazil or back home in Australia, either. Makes me appreciate Spring and Autumn when i travel and get to peek in on the wonders of these transitional earthly moods.

    Like

  2. I’m sitting on a WiFi-equipped plane at 35,000 feet on my way to Detroit, where it’s about 5 degrees. I’m flying there from San Francisco, where it’s about 60. It does give one pause when it comes to this so-called “global warming.” But there is a difference between “weather” and “climate,” as I wrote about in this post: http://mindfuldigressions.com/2013/12/12/the-heat-is-on/.

    So despite this unusual weather pattern, that’s what it is, a weather pattern. But there are those who will never be convinced. You know, Republicans and those who truly do believe that “God’s got it all under control.”

    Like

  3. We do get seasons down here in Johannesburg. Not that extreme but it can get pretty nippy in winter.

    In fact, in the 30 years I have lived here it has even snowed….three times I think?

    Like

    • I’ve lived here my whole life. If it snows tomorrow that will be the third time in my lifetime. That is, if it snows and sticks to the ground. We’ve had a flurry here and there that melted before it hit the ground, but as for a real snowfall…not so much.

      I do have a picture of me when I was a kid, maybe five, in my plaid bell-bottoms and a cardigan standing next to a snowman my mom helped me build. He was about the same height as me. I think he might have been more sticks and leaves than actual snow.

      Like

  4. It even snowed in Auckland a few years back, light snow on the beaches. Mankind cannot influence climate. For those who say we do, then aren’t we going to cause all sorts of problems by blocking the “natural” flow of wind by installing millions of towers to convert the wind into electricity? Who knows what the unintended consequences of this are going to be?

    Like

Leave a Reply

