Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Churches of England

7 Comments

I’m having a walk down memory lane. I love old buildings. And even though I’ve completely changed my views on religion, I especially love the architecture of old churches.

Out From Under the Umbrella

When I went to England in September I was simply blown away by all the architecture. On just about every corner in the villages and sprinkled what seemed every few miles in the countryside was a Church.  The pubs were just as frequent.  We’d be driving along in the middle of nowhere and boom…a pub…and a Church.  We’re not talking a little old wooden church in the woods.  Every one is made of stone with large wooden doors hundreds of years old.

I only spent five days there though I could have stayed five weeks.  It was an amazing experience and one I’ll never forget.  Having stayed through a Sunday I did go to Mass at an Anglican Church that belongs to the Church of England.  This is the one that I went to.

St. John the Baptiste Church, Midsomer Norton

It was the first liturgical service I’d ever attended. …

View original post 449 more words

7 thoughts on “Churches of England

  1. I’m not sure if you’re aware but this part of limeyland is very close to my seaside location.

    So if your tour guide ever decides to bring you sightseeing round these parts again please get in touch. We can participate in a very different kind of spirit with body. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m sure we will be back in that area. His parents live in Peasedown. They are coming next summer to America and we will likely be over there the next. Would love for us to get together with you and Mrs. Limey. That would be so cool!

      Like

  2. Ruth, that’s a gorgeous post about ‘Englishness’. Sums it up beautifully.

    I’ve taken communion. And taken part in religious fiestas in Italy. Belief was irrelevant, just felt like doing it.

    One of the things that always warned me off religion was the belief that a tacky wafer and cheap wine turns into the body and blood of Christ. I mean how off the wall is that?

    It was probably the sixth form history course I studied (reformation) so there was endless emphasis on the Lutheran breakaway, and the difference between con and trans.

    My mother was slightly mortified when I trotted up to the altar (without going through all the teaching for confirmation) and gaily joined in. So what? If you are going to go in for any of it, might as well go the whole way. I knew what it was ‘meant’ to signify. That I didn’t believe it was a whole different issue.

    In terms of liturgy, I prefer high church Anglican, it’s borderline Catholic, and has all the trappings with incense etc. One needs a little distraction and nice surroundings and props do help.

    And that’s probably the most religious comment you’ll ever get out of me.

    Like

    • Thanks, Kate.

      Yes, the tacky wafer and cheap wine. That is such a weird belief. I honestly didn’t know that Catholics believed that it magically transfigured into the literal body and blood of Christ until I started going through my deconversion. We Southern Baptists would never have believed such silliness. :/sarcasm

      Yes, it mortifies those in every sect, I think, if you partake of communion – we called it the Lord’s Supper – if you’re not a believer. *gasp*

      I did love England, though. If I were to emigrate that’s likely where it would be. The Brit says I probably wouldn’t like the cold winters. He’s probably right. They certainly were depressing for him. I just had lunch with The Brit and out of the he says, “I love America.” I asked him what he loves about it. He said, “Well, I guess I haven’t really seen much of the whole of America. What I really mean is, I love it here – South Georgia.” Again I ask what he loves so much about it as we’re riding around with the windows down a cool breeze blowing through our hair, the dogs in the back seat. “The people are friendly*, the weather is nice, and you.” A slight pause. “Not necessarily in that order, mind.” lol

      The people here are friendly on a superficial level. And the people I’ve introduced him to are not overtly religious. Were I to try to drag him into my old circle of friends I think he might feel a bit differently. They are friendly to be sure. But…

      Like

Leave a Reply

