Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Is Anyone Else Having Trouble?

13 Comments

My reader isn’t loading most of the time.  When it does load it wants permission to run the QuickTime plugin.  And now on every dashboard function it has this stupid, annoying Best Deals ad.

Is anyone else having this issue or have contracted a disgusting virus?  If it’s a WordPress thing….booooo, WP!  If it’s a virus on my computer….dammit, man!

***Update:  I’ve isolated and repaired the virus I contracted.  If anyone is interested it’s called realdeal ads . It hijacks all your links and redirects to ridiculous warnings about security breaches and searches out keywords, like free, or computer, or download, and creates a link to direct you to the same ridiculous page  I isolated the registry file but couldn’t locate it.  After searching diligently and going to the file that the start-up and processes reported it to be in the file was empty.  Insidious bastards!  I ended up doing a system restore.  It is fixed for now…
13 thoughts on “Is Anyone Else Having Trouble?

  1. I am only accessing the reader on my smart phone app which is working fine so I am not sure I can help you.

    Like

  2. No problem on this end

    Like

    • Yeah, somehow I contracted a virus. I try to be really careful online but sometimes it doesn’t matter how careful you are some insidiously clever jackass has invented a way to get you. Gah!

      Like

  3. No problems here though I often get doubles of some posts, not yours though.

    Like

    • I get those doubles sometimes, too. Not sure what that’s about. I would have just assumed I had a virus except that my reader wasn’t loading right on a different computer. It was loading the WordPress stuff at the top, but the reader was just blank. Weird.

      Like

  4. Glad to know you have resolved it.

    Like

  5. Yikes! Sorry about your issue Ruth, and glad to hear you’ve fixed it.

    Like

  6. I’m glad you got things sorted out. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

