Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Crap You Didn’t Know(And might not want to)

38 Comments

blowyourmindAlice over at Whatsoever Is Lovely tagged me to participate in sharing five facts about myself a few days ago.  I promised to have my facts up tomorrow two days ago.  I thought I’d have time yesterday morning before work.  No such luck.  Then my day was so busy I didn’t have time and I thought I’d do it when I got home.  Unfortunately I was so dang tired I collapsed.  So the tomorrow that was yesterday became today.  And I know that your inquiring minds are just abuzz with anticipation. So without further adiue, here they are:

1.)  I am a mutant.  Did you know: blue-eyes-mutation 2.)  I have brown hair when I’m not paying to be a blonde. About which the ultra scientific people at Mysteries24 say:

For example, brunet hair and jet black hair are the most dense and toughest varieties of follicles. This leads to the conclusion that their wearers are very responsible with a strong mentality, better at overcoming stress, and even to some extent – curmudgeon. On the other hand, people with brown hair have an average of fewer hairs: between 100, 000 and 110, 000, much less than blondes, who have about 150 000. This fact is associated with lower susceptibility of Brunettes to spiritual and abstract undertakings. They are practical and earthy, with good orientation toward secular bustle and vanity. They are interested in facts that are pure and tangible through our five senses. They can maneuver, adapt and implement plans and projects, even in an environment of controversy, conflict and intrigue.

Maybe they’re onto to something, even if their research isn’t…100% credible. I don’t even know what their credentials or methods are.

3.) I really like to play games; card games; yard games; board games; you name it really.  Spades, Uno, Cornhole, Bocce Ball, Scrabble, Checkers, whatever.  If I don’t know how to play, I’m game to learn.  I don’t know how to play Chess, but would love to learn!

No, I don't know these people.

No, I don’t know these people.

4.) I’m a Leo.  Hear me roaarrrrrrr! Rawr?

leo

At the end of the month I’ll be forty…something(mumble, cough, %&^*$).

5.)  I’ve stopped and started the Couch to 5K program more times than I’d like to admit.  Right now I’m on week 4.  Again.

2d7589d3b80a512a7c70bff54cf4b640I’m hoping to advance to 8k when I can run five without being dead.

And that’s about it.  This is the part where I’m supposed to tag other bloggers to do the same but there are so many creative bloggers I follow that I can’t narrow it down and I don’t think you all want me to tag all of you.  So if you want to share some detes about yourself, jump on it and leave a link in the comments!

38 thoughts on “Crap You Didn’t Know(And might not want to)

  1. I share your Leo and love for games. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am a mutant as well and I love games.

    Like

  3. Right handed, left legged. Is that a mutation, or am I just clever? 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I am a Capricorn, learnt to play chess and forgot for lack of practice

    Like

  5. Shucks! Now I know way too much about you Ruth. 😆

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wha–? I have brown hair, and my hairs are neither dense nor tough.

    Like

  7. Hi Ruth!

    Not having a clue who you are, but being tagged as well, it seemed like a good idea to read your facts. I’ve got one shade lighter than black, with the brown eyes to go with it and the story about the fewer hairs is definitely true! The cardboard games are utmost recognizable as well. I love solitaire and when I’m not behind the screen, I’m into the Japanese puzzles.

    Anyway, I love the way you dry sense of humor, hence why it seemed a good idea to leave a comment here.

    Take care, Lexje

    Like

    • I have lots of hair. It’s thick but it’s baby fine. Japanese puzzles? Sudoku or something else? You know, I don’t really ever play the card games on my computer. If(and it’s been a really long time) I play Solitaire I pick up a deck of cards. For some reason they just don’t seem the same on the screen.

      Thanks for the comment about my dry sense of humor. Sometimes it’s hard to know if that’s coming through in type. I have black belt in the art of sarcasm.

      I’m glad you stopped by. Come back anytime!

      Like

      • “Japanese puzzles? Sudoku or something else?”

        Sudoku is on the list, but I meant nonograms (griddlers). Over here (in Holland) they are simply called Japanese puzzles. I like all sorts of logical puzzles. But what makes this one special is that it results in a picture if done properly.

        “For some reason they just don’t seem the same on the screen.”

        It requires less space on the screen, that’s for sure. But yes, true. But the only (physical) card games I really like to play are the Lenormand card games. It’s fun to find out the different meanings, by looking at the pictures, regardless of there being any truth to it or not. Or just maybe I just like the pictures…

        “Thanks for the comment about my dry sense of humor. Sometimes it’s hard to know if that’s coming through in type. I have black belt in the art of sarcasm.”

        You sure do. And so do many more visiting you blog. It’s actually very relaxing, ’cause it’s just what it is.

        “I’m glad you stopped by. Come back anytime!”

        Thanx Ruth! The same applies to you, on my blog (of course).

        Like

  8. I’m ahead of you, Cancer, and fifty something at the end of last month. Yes to scrabble, draughts, cards and I learned chess at school. A friend and I took classes and then played every Friday lunchtime. Green eyed mutant and brown haired now, although blonde as a kid.

    You want to run five K? I want to walk one!! Why do those weeks only have three days though?

    Like

    • Ugh, I think that blonde I’m paying for seeped into my brain. For a minute I thought you were telling me you have CANCER! Geez…sometimes I can be a little slow on the uptake. Anyway, happy belated birthday!! I only mumbled through being forty-something because I think for some crazy reason I’m supposed to be grouchy about it. I’m not. I feel better now than I did when I was thirty-something, or twenty-something for that matter.

      How are you doing with the ankle? Is it getting any better? Or maybe a better question is are you getting around any better with it?

      The weeks only have three days because you’re meant to do those exercises for three days out of he week, resting(from running) on the other days. You’re meant to incorporate other, less strenuous, cardio or possibly even strength training on the other days. I walk my dogsMy dogs walk me every day for at least a mile and a half, usually more, so I count that and then I also ride my bike and/or swim on my off days.

      Like

      • If that was the case I would have used lower case, ie cancer. But I wouldn’t have posted about it on your blog out of nowhere!

        Thanks, and enjoy yours later. My 40th was a big one. I wrote about it. I liked being twenties and thirties. Forties? I kicked my heels and dropped out. But maybe your forties has to do with life changes not age?

        The ankle. It’s just taking a long time. It would probably be better if I walked more, exercised more and didn’t work in front of a computer. C’est la vie. I went out on yesterday’s – short – dog walk, and was knackered on return. Much to A’s amusement. I envy your schedule. I would love to do all three. Not the running. But, poco a poco. Just wait till you hit fifty 😈

        Like

        • It was just one of those ‘wait, did she just say she has cancer’, things. Then I re-read it and realized you were giving me your sign. Like I said, a little slow on the uptake. Smh….

          Do you have a link? My 40th was fairly uneventful. It must have been. I don’t even remember what we did. Or maybe I’m just repressing the memory of it.

          I think the key to any exercise regimen is that it must be enjoyable. If you don’t like it you won’t stick with it. Running, if you can even call what I do running – it’s more like jogging, perhaps even fast walking for some – isn’t for everybody. Especially if you have joint problems. It’s really not good at all for that.

          “Just wait till you hit fifty 😈

          So I hear. Bring it on, I say! The alternative leaves me six feet under. O_o

          Like

          • You’ve already read it. I went back to look. Must have sent you it before on a similar topic 😀 it was where I got totally rat-arsed on cava, vodka and orange juice in Valencia. Agua de Valencia.

            Totally agree about exercise. Except I hate ‘exercise’. So I do what I like. But exercise for the sake of it has me rebelling immediately. Swimming and cycling are much easier on the joints. I looked at the sea this weekend and so wanted to be in there. But the waves are big and strong and right now I couldn’t walk in or out 😦

            Yeah. I agree. And sixty and seventy. Fifties just bring a different set of problems … I don’t even want to think about the later decades.

            Like

          • Oh, yeah. I remember that one. Thanks for refreshing my memory. 😀

            I always thought I hated exercise, too. I used to hate sweating. Now I miss it when I haven’t done something for a bit. I started running jogging speed walking with a bounce when I was working through some seriously stressful times and needing an outlet that didn’t involve violence. Running really is a good stress reliever. I think that’s why I keep going back to it.

            Liked by 1 person

  9. I recall seeing a story a while back where a blond haired blue eyed child was born to two dark skinned brown eyed parents.

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1299011/Our-blue-eyed-blonde-haired-gift-God.html

    I see it was God!

    Like

  10. Nice to know more about you Ruth:) I like games (but mostly the video kind). Out of all my kiddos only one has brown eyes and was born with them. The rest are mutantish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

