Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

My First Day

9 Comments

A couple of weeks ago I talked about what I thought was a pretty strange interview process.  Even after I did the personality profile test I had two more interviews.  I met with one of the owners of the company.  Traveled about 50 miles one way to speak with him for ten minutes.  The basis of this interview was, “Tell me something about yourself.”  The end.  Then I met once more with the store manager, Mr. OCD.  I actually spoke with another salesperson that I’ve known  for a really long time and my assessment of Mr. OCD was pretty spot on.  At this meeting I was informed the job was mine if I wanted it.

Yay!  I’ve rejoined the workforce.  My first day was yesterday.  It was a typical Monday.  I’m really glad I got up early.  Or maybe I’m not.  I got up, made coffee, blogged and then headed for the shower.  I had no hot water.  I hate cold showers.  My skin is usually red and steaming when I emerge from a shower.  Luke warm water is the same as cold water to me. I threw on my robe and went outside to check the propane tank.  Empty. #@&*#!%$ Then on my way to work the car in front of me slammed on breaks, I slammed on breaks and the contents of my purse were dumped into the floor board of the car.  Good thing I left early.

Once I got to work I realized just how nice this job is going to be.  I’m sure it has it’s “things nobody likes to do” parts.  I’m sure dealing with unhappy customers won’t be a lot of fun. But I got to look at furniture and swatches of paint and fabric samples all day long.  I loved it!  This store has two floors so I went up and down stairs all day.  I got to actually talk to people and smile and have conversations besides, “Which department do you want this coded to?”  It’s definitely not a desk job.  And this is a pretty busy furniture store.  No sitting behind a desk all day.

I got there at nine and before I knew it six o’clock had rolled around.  I had to stop off at the store to pick up a few items.  Then I had to go to the craft shop to pick up some thread I needed to finish off this fab pair of smocked draped I’m making for a friend.  By the time I got home it was nearly eight.  I had just enough time to grab something to eat, check out my eFriend’s blogs, and crash.  Out like a light.

9 thoughts on “My First Day

  1. Waiting now to hear about your second day. *grin*So glad you got the job!

    Like

  2. Ha, my wife is the same way with her showers. She thinks it's comfortable right about the temperature I think my skin is going to boil off. :-)Congrats, and I'm glad you're enjoying the new job so far!

    Like

  3. Yay! Income that isn't pure torture to obtain! Hooray!

    Like

  4. Congrats on the new job and well done on not being out of work for months on end.

    Like

  5. Glad you enjoyed yourself!

    Like

  6. Yay! I'm so glad you enjoyed your first day!I too love a HOT shower and I hate to say I take quite a while in there wasting hot water. I always get so annoyed when my purse falls in the floor dumping out trash and stuff. I'm always afraid I'll lose my chapstick that would be a travesty. Hope your second day is as enjoyable as the first. 🙂

    Like

  7. So glad the job is starting well. I will refrain from scolding the propane tank as I think you did an adequate job there :)Looking forward to the continued adventures of D'Ma, salesperson.

    Like

  8. @Zoe,I'll save you the boring details of my day by day adventures. Thanks for the encouragement.=================================================@TWF,I think the lobster look is so in for women!So far so good on the job.================================================@MM,I really think I'm going to like this. Not that I didn't like my last job, it's just that after 14 years and no where else to go it got a bit stagnant for me. ===============================================@limey,Thanks. I really couldn't afford to be out of a job for months on end. It's happening to people all over the country, though and my heart breaks for them. I know I'm very fortunate.================================================@DoOrDoNot,I have very much enjoyed this change of pace. Plus I can choose luxurious fabrics, beautiful furnishings and accessories all to my heart's content…on someone else dime. *grin*===============================================@TAW,I've really enjoyed this week so far. It's fantastic not to be doing the same repetitious thing day after day. ================================================@Exrelayman, You can help me curse the propane tank if you like. It's all the propane tank's fault, of course; not mine. Couldn't possibly be my fault. They should put some kind of alert on that thing. The thing is I was on a scheduled route. Then when we had that "fuel shortage scare" they said people would have to call in so they could avoid unnecessary trips out. Then they put me back on a route and now I guess I'm not on a route. Confusing. I'm sure I'll have some interesting stories to tell before it's all said and done. 🙂

    Like

  9. Congratulations on the new job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

