Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Keep on Going

5 Comments

Those of you who have read here for very long know that I’m not really into Country Music.  You also know I don’t believe in a literal hell where people are going to burn for all eternity.  But you also know, as is the case for just about everybody, I’ve been through my fair share of hell right here on Earth.  Which is why the symbolism and the imagery in this song resonates with me so strongly and why it makes it a power ballad of sorts for me.

That why every time I find myself in another dark, smokey place, I’ll just keep on going.

Yeah, I’ve been there:

Well I been deep down in that darkness
I been down to my last match
Felt a hundred different demons
Breathing fire in my back
And I knew that if I stumbled
I’d fall right into the trap that they were laying, Yeah

But the good news
Is there’s angels everywhere out on the street
Holding out a hand to pull you back upon your feet

5 thoughts on “Keep on Going

  1. I’m not normally a country music fan, but this was a good song!

    Like

  2. I’m liking that jeep. Sort of reminds me of copperhead road ( the music)

    An hey, we’re all here. There ain’t no smoking firey hell. Make the most of what you got.

    Like

  3. I’ll have to check out copperhead road.

    There ain’t no smoking firey hell.

    Only the ones we make. I’ve got a few scars but I just keep on going.

    Like

Leave a comment