Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

14 thoughts on “The Sky’s the Limit

    • What a beaut! ”Bandits at 12 0’clock”

      We’re on a direct flight path for one of the routes ( Jhb to Cape Town, I think) from Johannesburg International Airport and get aircraft flying over us most days.

      Like

      • It was a glorious day and the airshow we caught was just the icing on the cake. We’d gone down to the beach for the day and when we arrived we hit the most godawful traffic. Having no idea what was going on we forged ahead, had to park about a mile away, but it was oh so worth it! We didn’t know that the airshow was going on until we got almost down to the seaside. It’s a pretty amazing thing to watch.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, jono! It’s nice to see you around here. It’s been a while!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I loved that saying until I heard Neil deGrasse Tyson paraphrase it in his book “The Sky is not the Limit. Adventures of an Urban Astrophysicist”. Hope to be able to read it one day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Please leave your title unchanged, Ruth! Am I right in feeling a difference only in the wording, not in the meaning? “The Sky is the Limit” suggest a limit of the sky. Go ahead young man, find it! The other saying creates the same image of unending space.

    Like

  3. That’s lovely Ruth. Who was it?

    I was lucky enough to see the Red Arrows in Gib. Can’t believe how many years ago now.

    https://roughseasinthemed.wordpress.com/2009/09/19/red-arrows-over-gibraltar-2009/

    Pix blow up, was back in my blogger days, so the post is an import.

    Like

    • The first picture is of the Blue Angels. I can’t recall who the second picture was. It was several hours of different sorts of planes and formations so there were a number of different performers.

      Your pics are brilliant!

      Like

      • Thanks. I think the U.S. Scores a few points there though for longevity. Blue Angels have nearly 20 years on the Red Arrows. Gib just ground to a halt though when the Arrows came. I swear it would have tipped into the sea as so many people were packed onto the Point. Well worth going though, really enjoyed it. Hope you enjoyed your air show too.

        Like

        • You know, it’s not something I would have gone out of my way to go to because I wouldn’t have thought it would be so enjoyable. I would definitely go to another having experienced it. It was definitely worth going to.

          And, yes, the crowd was as you say. I’ve never seen so many people packed into such a tiny space.

          Like

  4. Pingback: Isaiah’s Scale: Plowshare to Crop | My Own Champion

Leave a comment