Out From Under the Umbrella

playing in the rain

Two Weeks is Not Enough

11 Comments

On the heels of my 5K debut The Tour Guide flew in to visit for a couple of weeks.  He got here on September 24 and we had a fantastic time.  Because I’d just joined the ranks of the employed I couldn’t take much time off, but we did manage to sneak out of town for a few days.

I absolutely love Savannah so I took The Tour Guide on a tour of it.

 

We spent the night there and had a delicious dinner on River Street.

The next morning went down I95 to check out Cumberland Island.  We took the ferry from St. Mary’s over to the Island.  While there are some residents on the Island, they’ve banded together to preserve it in it’s natural state.  No hotels, no tiki bars, no airbrush t-shirt shops. There are no stores, no restaurants nor anything commercial.  We took a picnic lunch over along with a small ice chest packed with drinks because there’s nowhere to buy anything once you’re there.  Completely unspoiled.  The only thing there is to spend money on once you’re on the island is bicycle rental at the beach camp.  We met quite a few people who were camping for the weekend.  It’s breathtakingly beautiful.

A bit grey, but beautiful scenery at Cumberland Island
The ruins of Dungeness – Winter home of Andrew Carnegie

Cumberland Island is home to the very first African American Baptist Church and the original burial place of General Henry Lee, III.  Wild turkeys, turtles, and horses roam free.  The only vehicles in the State Park are the ones that the Rangers drive.

My brother-in-law built this cooker himself.

We also spent a lot of time with my family.  For my little sister’s birthday we had a cookout,

We make a pretty good team!

played games,

shot bows and arrows,


and fished.

Two weeks goes by way too fast. ;~)

11 thoughts on “Two Weeks is Not Enough

  1. Aha! So that's why you haven't been online!You are hereby completely forgiven. (Said as if that made any difference in the world… heh!) Looks like you guys had a lot of fun, and good on you for it!

    Like

  2. Glad you enjoyed your vacation. I have never been to Savannah, but my mom went on vacation there once. She told me that I must go sometime!! Welcome back!!

    Like

  3. I was about to send out a search party. :-)Sounds like a wonderful 2 weeks.

    Like

  4. D'Ma,Glad for your lovely vacation. And glad to see you back. I'll have to remember these vacation spots. I've never seen Savannah or Cumberland Island. BTW, how do incorporat your photos with your blog post? I had such trouble trying that and I'm sure there is a better way.

    Like

  5. That is spectacular! I happy that you and the tour guide got to spend great quality time together. Cumberland Island looks like a treasure.

    Like

  6. So glad you had a wonderful vacation! I had been wondering where you were!

    Like

  7. @MM, That's my story and I'm sticking to it. I kept thinking, "I'll post something….later". Later became a week, then two weeks, then a month. Yikes! My, how time flies…@HIS, Thanks! You should definitely check out Savannah. Just steer clear of there on St. Paddy's day. Unless you're into huge crowds and green beer.@Zoe, Whew! I resurfaced just in time! *giggle* I did have a fabulous two weeks. It just went by too quickly.@DODN, Thanks! It was really nice. As for the photos: I usually type up my post, upload the photos I want to insert, then drop them in close to where I want them. Sometimes it's not that easy. I have to drag them and drop them after I've inserted them and sometimes I have to move the text around afterwords. I'm also using the updated editor, not the old editor. Every now and then it's easier to insert photos where I want them in under the HTML editor tab.@TWF, Cumberland Island is definitely a treasure. We talked about getting back there to camp sometime. Neither of us are really campers, but we might give it a try there. :)@TAW, I've been trying to keep up with some of my favorite blogs, reading them when I've had time and making a few comments here and there. But by and large I haven't had much time for posting, myself. I've missed it.

    Like

  8. Stumbled upon this post — I’ve camped at Cumberland Island too! Most people I know have never heard of it, but I tell folks about it whenever I get the chance. I absolutely loved it and plan to go back someday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It does seem to be a little known treasure. We’re going to go back someday, too, and talked about camping out instead of just a day trip.

      Like

      • We stayed 2 nights, and it was awesome. In addition to Dungeness, there’s a mansion still standing toward the north end of the island, if I remember correctly. It was very cool, too.

        Actually, you’ll get a kick out of this: I went in 2007, when I was still a Christian and young earth creationist. I saw a huge tree out there, some kind of wild oak, I think, and wondered if it was old enough to have been created rather than grown. 😉

        Like

        • I think that mansion that’s still standing is a Bed & Breakfast if you don’t want to rough it.

          Ha! By the time we went I’d already lost my faith. But one of my favorite places to go is the North Georgia foothills in the fall. I always marveled at the way God painted every leaf.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

